23 March 2013 – Owncloud revisited

Attending this week Elizabeth, Keiran and Mike.

 Keiran, ably assisted by Elizabeth, worked on a presentation about Linux for his IT project at school.

 I took another look at owncloud, an open source dropbox.
When I first looked at Owncloud, a few versions back, it had problems syncing. The sync would fail regularly with a message about the time not being in sync. Even setting the server and client to use the same network time server did not help, so I gave up.

Version 5 is now out, and the time sync problem is gone, and Owncloud is looking good.
My only concern now is security. I do not know enough about network server security to expose my Owncloud server to the internet, so I am using Hamachi.

By Placing an Hamachi server in the same network as the Owncloud server, and using an Hamachi client on machines that I want to access Owncloud, access is carried out in a private network.
No ports need to be opened on the router, and so it feels more secure. If it is not secure, perhaps someone will let me know!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

